Who We Are – Cllr. Jillian Creasy G.P. (and P.P.C.)

Jillian Creasy is one of three Green Party City Councillors in Sheffield Central Ward and is standing in Sheffield Central Constituency for the forthcoming General Election as a Prospective Parliamentary Candidate for her party. Jillian also works two days a week as a salaried GP in Page Hall.

What do you like most about your job?
Both jobs bring me into contact with people and I enjoy listening to them and helping to solve their problems. The satisfying part of my job as a Councillor is seeing how the many small problems reflect larger issues in the city and society/politics at large and working with individuals and groups to change things for the better.

Best/Worst day?
It’s the variety and breadth of both my jobs which is satisfying and the only bad thing is not having enough time to do it all as well or as thoroughly as I would wish – or for myself, friends and family.

Who is or was the most important influence in your life?
It was Bernard Little, now a fellow councillor in Central ward and hoping to win a seat for the Green Party in Broomhill this year. He encouraged me to join the Green Party and to run for election as a councillor. So I owe my present career and ambitions to him! He is still a great source of inspiration and support, holding onto his vision of a fairer world through all the ups and downs of life in Sheffield City Council.

Favourite gadget?
It’s a compost/worm-bin turner, which my parents gave to me for my 50th birthday. It’s very simple, a giant corkscrew, which you drive down through the worm-bin and then lift, thereby aerating rotting organic waste and improving the eventual texture of the compost. Yumyum.

Favourite media?
Radio.

Current or recent film you’d most like to see?
No One Knows About Persian Cats.

What music you listening to right now?
I don’t listen while I’m at my desk, only while I’m doing housework, but recently saw the Carolina Chocolate Drops at the Memorial Hall and have got their CD on the go.

What makes you smile?
I recently had my 1982 Holdsworth bicycle completely refurbished so it’s looking beautiful and riding like a dream. Every little trip into the Town Hall or round the ward or even the pull up to Page Hall is a pleasure.

What would you most like to put right in this world?
Gross inequalities between the “haves” and the “have nots”. In the UK, there is a 7-fold difference in earnings between the top and the bottom 20%. This compares to 3.5 in Japan and 4.5 in France. Only the USA is more divided with an 8-fold difference. The divisions in society damage the rich as well as the poor, nor will we solve the environmental crisis unless we share resources fairly.

How do you see yourself in 10 years?
Living in the same place (Broomhall) and doing lots of the same things, but hopefully with a bit more time for walking, gardening, music, friends and family …

Leave a Reply

