“Who We Are” – Spencer Pitfield

Spencer Pitfield is a music teacher and a Parliamentary Candidate currently campaigning to be elected to represent the newly-redrawn Penistone & Stocksbridge constituency in the next Parliament.

Spencer is 40 years old, soon to be 41 years on 10th April, and he lives in Sheffield with his wife Gabrielle and their three young children.

What do you like most about your job?
Nothing gives me more pleasure than helping young people to reach their full potential – not only in their music making, but in all aspects of their lives.

Best/Worst day?
My best day is when I really see dramatic improvement in my pupils’ clarinet playing. My worst day is when I am required to spend most of it working through paperwork and bureaucracy: It’s a necessary part of the job, but very frustrating all the same.

Who is or was the most important influence in your life?
My brother Ashley. He died from kidney cancer at the terribly young age of just 17 years. His strength and sense of humour in such tragic circumstances will live with me for the rest of my life. He was an inspiration.

Favourite gadget?
I’m not very technical. My wife will bear witness to that. But I do like my new Blackberry – I can now send texts just like they are e-mails. Blackberry Curve has revolutionised my texting ability. It could take hours before to send just one text!

Favourite media?
It has to be TV. I don’t get very much free time from work or campaigning, so really do enjoy snuggling up with the family to watch Saturday night TV.

Current or recent film you’d most like to see?
I’d just like to see any film. I can’t remember the last time we went as a family to the cinema. My youngest son is three years, and up until now could not sit still through a whole feature length film. But who knows, after the election might be a good time to give it a go.

What music you listening to right now?
I listen on and off to Hallam FM, Penistone FM and Dearne FM (Hallam FM in the morning as the children love the Hallamster!). But if I’m really honest, I prefer listening to Radio 4 – especially the hour long news round-up at 5pm.

What makes you smile?
TV Burp. Harry Hill is very funny.

What would you most like to put right in this world?
There are lots of things I could suggest, but many would just not be achievable. I would however like to make sure that many more of our fantastic smaller charities in this country do not need to struggle for funding.

How do you see yourself in 10 years?
I hope that in some small way I can continue to make a positive difference to lives of people. It is the small things that really count and I will continue to be driven to make a difference wherever I can.

One response to ““Who We Are” – Spencer Pitfield

  1. Wheyhey! Seems like a nice young fella.

Leave a Reply

